It's all about Diamonds!

Every gem used by us here at Morgan Banks has been selected for its beauty and quality. Diamonds, sapphires, rubies, the list is infinite. 

Diamonds hold a reputation for not only being beautiful but also incredibly tough. The famous 4 "C's" are still as important as ever when it comes to selecting a diamond. We advise buying the best diamond to fit your budget, diamonds never go out of style.

The Carat - Carat is by far the most famous and well known of the four "C's". Carat signifies the weight of the diamond and the weight is representative of the size. You should focus on the carat size that suits you and not get hung up on certain better known size brackets. 


The Cut - The importance of cut is often underestimated when people are buying diamonds. The cut effects how light travels through the diamond, effecting the sparkle. A diamond cutter has an incredibly important job and is highly skilled.

The most sought after cut is the "brilliant" cut with its 57 facets:

With the way the cut bends light, it has remained popular and has caught the eye of people since its beginning in the 20th Century. 
Emerald Cut:
The Emerald cut has found itself featured in a variety of jewellery designs, not only in ones featuring diamonds. It is easily recognisable due to its rectangular shape and clean, tapered corners.
Princess Cut:
The Princess cut, much like the Brilliant Cut, bends and reflects light to create something beautiful. It stands out due to its profile, resembling an inverted pyramid.
Oval Cut:
Easily recognisable, the Oval cut is a familiar and often-seen type of diamond cut. This style of cut manages to retain most of the original gems weight due to how closely it manages to follow their shape.
Heart Cut: 
The Heart cut is often used as a perfect diamond gift for your loved one. How symmetrical the two halves are is important due to not only the shape and appearance but also to make the diamond shine brilliantly.
Pear Cut:
The Pear cut is quite differently shaped to the others in how bulky it tends to be on one side. This shape however, makes it perfect for pendants or rings.

The Colour - Diamonds are graded in colour from D-Z. D-F are classed as colourless and are of course, the best. G-J are classed as near colourless and are a good alternative. Diamonds can also come in colours such as red and yellow but these are extremely rare.

The Clarity - Diamonds are minerals that are found naturally in the ground. So like everything natural they can contain flaws. A diamond that is completely free of any flaws is called "IF" or internally flawless. The next category to consider is VVS 1 and VVS 2, this signifies that inclusions or blemishes are extremely difficult to locate even with a 10 x magnifying glass. The levels then follow as, VS1 and VS 2, leading onto SI 1 and SI2. At SI2 blemishes can be located with a 10 x magnifying glass but not with the naked eye.